OFA president wins for Women in Agriculture

President of the Ontario Federation of Agricul­ture (OFA) Bette Jean Crews  is one of five women in Canada to be honoured with the Rose­mary Davis award by Farm Credit Canada.


The award recognizes lead­er­ship and commitment to the Canadian agriculture and agri-food industry.

A News release from Farm Credit Canada stated the award recognizes “courage, determi­na­tion and passion. They [recipients] have followed their dreams and taken the time to share their knowledge with others in support of the future suc­cess of the Canadian agri­culture industry.”

Crews is serving her second term as OFA president. Before that she was vice-president for two years, and a member of the OFA executive committee for six. She has been a board member of OnTrace, is a  past chairman of the Agricultural Management Institute, and is past chairman of the Agri­cultural Adaptation Council.

With her involvement at OFA, Crews takes on respon­si­bilities at the Canadian Federa­tion of Agriculture (CFA) where she serves on the execu­tive committee; is co-chairman of the food safety committee; and agricultural representative on the Canadian Supply chain Food Safety Coalition.

Her family operates an 800-acre, fourth generation farm in the Trenton area of south­eastern Ontario

She has received the Uni­ver­sity of Guelph Volunteer Recognition award (2000); and was featured as an Entre­preneur of the Year in Pro­gres­sive Choices magazine (2005).

In her community, Crews has been president of the Trenton branch of the Business and Professional Women’s Clubs of Ontario, and secretary of the Trenton Farmers’ Market Association. She has four adult children and five grand­child­ren.

Other recipients of the FCC award come from British Columbia, Nova Scotia, Mani­toba, and Quebec.