Centre Wellington approves appointments to Fergus BIA

ELORA – On Dec. 17, Centre Wellington councillor approved appointments to the Fergus Business Improvement Area Board.

They are Kim Jefferson, chair; Debb Greer, treasurer; and Ann Axion, Tanya Graham, Natalie McNeill, Bonnie Shortill, Cheryl Marsland, AJ Broderick, Tala Jenkin and Joyce Reimer.

ROMA board member bid

Centre Wellington is endorsing councillor Bob Foster’s bid for a seat in the upcoming Rural Ontario Municipalities of Ontario (ROMA) Board Elections.

Foster is interested in being a ROMA board member. During the Dec. 17 meeting, council endorsed Foster as a Zone 2 Representative for the 2019-23 ROMA Board.

Interim committee members

Also on Dec. 17, Centre Wellington council approved interim committee members to continue the work of various committees until the recruitment and appointment of new members.

The term for existing advisory committees ended on Nov. 30, with the previous term of council.

Due to the ongoing activities and projects, such as heritage permits and the development of the draft Economic Development Action Plan, staff would like to continue their work with the members of Heritage Centre Wellington and the Economic Development Task Force, on an interim basis, until recruitment and appointment of new committee members can be completed.

Council subsequently appointed the following individuals to Heritage Centre Wellington: Kathy Baranski, Sherry Baris, Philip Brown, Dave Beynon, Graeme Chalmers, Erin Eldridge, Nanette O’Sullivan and Nico Vandersluis.

Council appointed the following individuals to the Economic Development Task Force: Chris Bryant, Bob Cameron, Colin Harding, Janet Harrop (Chamber of Commerce), Gerry Horst (OMAFRA), Tim Horton, Tony Morris, Don Vallery and Paul Walker.

2019 fees and charges schedule

On Dec. 17, Centre Wellington council passed its 2019 fees and charges bylaw.

The bylaw will be  reviewed in February as part of the 2019 budget process.

However the new rates take effect Jan. 1, with the exception of Parks/Recreation and Fergus Grand Theatre fees, which take effect in April and July respectively.