‘A Royale Experience’: Chamber of commerce announces award nominees

ELORA – Organizers of the annual Centre Wellington Chamber of Commerce (CWCC) Awards of Excellence have announced nominees for the 19th Annual Awards of Excellence, as well as changes to this year’s event.

Holding the May 14 event at Elements Casino Grand River, in the Captain’s Quarters, will provide lots of room for networking, a buffet dinner and the announcement of winners, officials say.

“I am so happy to announce that every category received at least two nominees, said CWCC executive director Roberta Scarrow.

The Citizen of the Year and Youth Citizen of the Year will be announced in April, while all other winners will be announced at the gala in May.

“There were a few nominees who did not complete the nomination process so respectfully they are not listed here,” said Scarrow.

“This year we worked with a tech start up in Kitchener called Blitzen that helped to reduce administrative work somewhat.

“Congratulations to all the amazing nominees this year.”


Agriculture – Agri-Business: Salad Days and Wellington 4H.

Business Beautification-Heritage: Elora Mill Inn and Fergus Scottish Corner Shop.

Business of the Year: Beyond Rewards Inc., Castlemore Dental, Comhan Canada, Dar’s Country Market, Elements Casino Grand River, Elora Gorge Animal Hospital, Jester’s Fun Factory, NexGen Marketing Group, Northstar Wealth Management Inc. and WrightHaven Homes Ltd.

Citizen of the Year: Nicholas Bachinski, Staci Barron, Allan Boynton and Janet Harrop.

Community Social Responsibility: Agilec, Centre Wellington Rotary Club and Castlemore Dental

Corporate Citizen of the Year: Elizabeth Bender, Century 21 Excalibur Realty, OPP – Scott Lawson and Barbara Lustgarten-Evoy.

Cultural, Arts, Tourism Impact:  Elora Centre for the Arts (Black Sheep Festival) and Puzzle Rooms Canada Inc.

Customer Service Excellence:  Dan Allen Financial, CSN Hutten Collision, Elora Apothecary Pharmasave, Fergus Printing Inc., Grand River Pharmacy, Jester’s Fun Factory, La Beauty Boutique, Donna Legge-Nevett and Deb Stanson.

Environmental Excellence: Anvil Crawler Development and Birkstead Farm Inc.

Not for Profit: Centre Wellington Community Foundation and ReStore Fergus (Habitat for Humanity).

Skilled Trades or Professional:  One Axe Inc. and Rowe Electric.

Young Entrepreneur: Amanda Voisin (Body Mechanik) and Jesse, Luke and Mason Hambly (Pressabottle).

Youth Citizen of the Year:  Abby Taylor and Jade Ritter.

Organizers say several sponsors “have supported the chamber and this event for several years” and they are “happy to welcome a number of new sponsors too.”

The theme for this year’s gala is “A Royale Experience” and guests are invited to dress in formal attire and participate in the casino theme.

“Come and support the many nominees, enjoy a lovely buffet dinner and of course guests can do amazing networking,” officials say.

Seating is limited this year. To be added the wait list, call 519-843-5140. Officials say they “will be creative in trying to accommodate everyone’s request.” Tickets are $70 including HST.