Upper Grand District School Board announces 2019-20 Everyday Heroes

GUELPH – During this year of uncertainty, many Upper Grand District School Board (UGDSB) staff, community members and volunteers continued to go above and beyond to support local schools and communities.

In recognition the UGDSB has announced its 2019-20 Everyday Heroes.

The Everyday Hero Awards Selection Committee chose nine finalists from a group of deserving nominees.

This year’s Everyday Hero Awards recipients include dedicated school and board staff, a student and volunteers.

The winners are:

– 3D printing team consisting of  UGDSB staff from multiple locations and one student: Rhys Bennett, Charles Benyair, Jason Boyce, Michelle Brady, Jack Cox, Leonard Guchardi, Scott Harris, Tim Neal, Frances Norlen, Justin Novikow, Chris Priester, Ruth Tanner, Monique Van Item and Breanne Williamson;

– Joël Georges a teacher at King George Public School in Guelph;

– Kerry Halliday for the Skills Upgrading Program at Wellington Centre for Continuing Education;

– Carissa Marquardt head caretaker at Waverley Drive Public School

– Miguel Martin a volunteer at Erin District High School;

– Ben McCabe a teacher at Wellington Heights Secondary School;

– Beth McEwen a teacher librarian at John McCrae Public School;

– Barb McPhee a Community Partner; and

– Bonnie Sears a teacher at Willow Road Public School.

The criteria for the annual awards are: performance at a high level at all times, a significant school or system-related achievement, a specific innovation or achievement of significant value or importance to the system, or a unique circumstance worthy of recognition by the board.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the board is unable to honour winners through an awards ceremony and reception.

The winners will be honoured differently this year through social media and board and school websites. Each winner will be presented with a plaque separately in the coming weeks.

Presentations to the winners will be organized individually.

“Congratulations to all of the winners, nominees and those who nominated them,” officials said.