CVC seeking environmental champion nominations

ERIN – The Credit Valley Conservation Authority (CVCA) is seeking nominations for the annual Friends of the Credit Conservation Awards. 

The awards honour local environmental champions who are making a positive impact to support a thriving environment that protects, connects and sustains us.

This year’s program includes a new award category recognizing leadership and initiatives focusing on diversity, equity and inclusion. This award category honours work which engages people of diverse backgrounds and cultures, encouraging them to participate in environmental activities that support a sustainable future.

“Our Conservation Awards program is a way for [CVCA] Board of Directors and staff to recognize outstanding community members that are leading important environmental work in the watershed,” said CVCA community outreach and education manager Holly Nadalin. 

“CVC is dedicated to diversity, equity and inclusion. We’re excited to add to the depth of our awards program with a new category that reflects our culturally diverse community and acknowledges conservation work of Black people, Indigenous Peoples and people of colour.”

Nomination eligibility

The nomination process is open until March 1 to businesses, municipalities, schools, community groups, landowners and individuals who take a leadership role to ensure a greener future. 

Projects can include:

– landowners who have taken action to protect and restore nature on their property;

– local businesses, municipalities or regional government who have adapted new approaches or green infrastructure;

– individuals or businesses that donate land or funds to purchase land to ensure its long-term protection; and

– youth or individuals who have taken action to protect and improve the natural environment in their community.

Submission categories

CVC is seeking submissions from the public in the following nine categories:

– youth achievement;

– outstanding volunteer;

– environmental awareness;

– landowner stewardship;

– corporate leadership;

– green cities;

– diversity, equity and inclusion leadership;

– legacy donor; and

– watershed excellence.

For more information, including award descriptions and eligibility, visit