CVC appoints chair and vice-chair

MISSISSAUGA – At its inaugural 2020 meeting on Jan. 17, the Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) board of directors appointed Mississauga councillor Karen Ras as chair.

This will be Ras’ second term as chair and her sixth year of service on the CVC board.

“I’m honoured to be acclaimed as chair of Credit Valley Conservation,” said Ras.

“These are important times for Ontario conservation authorities. We have a new Conservation Authorities Act with pending regulations.

“We’re proud to work with our partners in government and across the watershed to lead protection, restoration and enhancement of our local natural environment.”

The board also acclaimed Oakville councillor Tom Adams as vice-chair.

Adams has served on the CVC board since 2011 and previously served as vice-chair in 2013 and 2019.

The CVC board consists of 12 members from watershed municipalities, including Erin councillor John Brennan.