Two Groves hospital surgeons receive Rural Specialst Merit Award

OTTAWA – Doctors Tina Williams and Khalid Enver, surgeons at Groves Memorial Community Hospital, are the recipients of the 2022 Rural Specialist Merit Award presented at the Society of Rural Physicians of Canada (SRPC) conference on April 22. 

SRPC’s past president Dr. Gabe Woollam, who is also chair of the nominations and award committee, and Dr. Margaret Tromp, presented the award to Williams, who also accepted the award on  Enver’s behalf at the conference gala held in Ottawa.

The award recognizes persons or organizations that have made a significant contribution to rural medicine in Canada.

“Together (Doctors Enver and Williams), have built and maintained their community’s general surgery services over the last two decades, which in a rural area also means they have sustained our anesthesia and obstetrical programs.” said colleague Dr. Sarah Gower. 

“Both are strong patient advocates and have been involved in many successful fundraising and promotional efforts with our rural hospital.  

“They are true rural generalists and will bend over backwards for their rural patients.”

Angela Stanley, president and CEO of Groves congratulated the surgeons on the achievement.

“Their dedication and commitment to the hospital, staff, patients and their families over the years is remarkable,” Stanley said. “They both have very kind hearts and are well loved by our hospital staff.” 

Details about all the SRPC awards are online at: