Few races emerge in local elections as Aug. 19 nomination deadline looms

WELLINGTON COUNTY – The deadline to file nomination papers to run for a seat on local councils or school boards in the Oct. 24 municipal election is Aug. 19.

As of the Community News deadline on Aug. 16, incumbent Mapleton Mayor Gregg Davidson was the only candidate for mayor of that municipality.

Incumbents Marlene Ottens and Michael Martin are running for councillor positions in the township, along with local residents Amanda Reid, Bill Sipes and Martin Tamlyn. There are four council positions to be filled in Mapleton.

Incumbent Earl Campbell is the only confirmed candidate for Wellington County council Ward 2, which covers Mapleton.


In Minto current deputy mayor Dave Turton is running for mayor. Incumbent Mayor George Bridge has announced he will not be running.

Current councillor Jean Anderson is running for deputy mayor.

Announced candidates for Minto’s five council seats are: incumbent councillors Geoff Gunson, Judy Dirksen and Ron Elliott, and local residents Paul Zimmerman and Ed Podniewicz.

Incumbent Dave Anderson is seeking reelection to the Ward 1 Wellington County council position.

Wellington North 

In Wellington North, current councillor Dan Yake is running for mayor against incumbent Mayor Andy Lennox.

Candidates for council positions:

– Shawn McLeod, Ward 1;

– Penny Renken, Ward 1;

– Sherry Burke, Ward 2;

– Lisa Hern, Ward 3; and

– Steven McCabe, Ward 4.

Incumbents Campbell Cork and Steve O’Neill are seeking the Ward 3 and Ward 4 seats respectively on county council.

One candidate each has filed nomination papers for school boards covering the area:

– Daniel Kelly, Upper Grand District School Board;

– Andrew Finoro, Wellington Catholic District School Board; 

– Genevieve Grenier, Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir; and

– Joseph Vandermeer, Conseil Scolaire Viamonde.

Community News Staff