Broomball provincial finals held in Fergus March 15 to 17

FERGUS –The 46th annual senior broomball provincial championships ran from March 15 to 17 at the Centre Wellington Community Sportsplex and at the Woolwich Memorial Centre in Elmira. 47 teams were registered to play in the tournament, with seven teams reigning victorious: Arrowstar won in Master Ladies, Cargill Rookies from Mildmay area won in Master Men’s, Tara Bulls won in Intermediate Men’s, Intermediate Ladies winners were the Young Guns, Elite Ladies winners were the Rebels, Minto Selects won in the Elite Men and the Clearview Brewers won in co-ed.

The Minto Selects won gold in overtime, qualifying the team for nationals in 2025. The Selects will also be competing at Nationals this year, in Belleville March 26 to 30, in addition to two other central-west ladies teams: OSS from Palmerston as and the Grey-Bruce Storm from Keady/Owen Sound.