Missionary leads in A final series


The teams skated to a 2-2 tie to start the game, but then a shorthanded goal by Missionary gave them the lead after the first period of play.

Zach Gingrich and Nick Weicker scored the Listowel goals, with an assist by Mike Gingrich.

Missionary goals were supplied by Zach Franklin and a pair by Jamie Hoelscher. Assists were earned by Hoelscher, Brady Claussen (2), and Cody Gleeson.

Missionary added another three goals in the second to pad the lead. Hoelscher added a goal and an assist for his hat trick. Other goals were scored by Brady Claussen and Matt Burnett, assisted by Zach Franklin and Pat Landman.

Phil Shantz edged Listowel back into the game with a power play goal before the period ended, assisted by Trevor Kuepfer.

The teams exchanged goals in the third to maintain the Missionary lead. Pat Landman scored both Missionary goals and Josh Shantz scored the Listowel pair. Earning assists for Missionary were Dylan Bults (2), Zach Franklin and Matt Burnett. Brad Gratz and Phil Shantz assisted on the Listowel goals..

The win gives Missionary a 1-0 lead in the best-of-three ‘B’ Division finals.


Drayton opened the scoring early in the first with a rebound goal by Herman Mulder, assisted by Eric Deckers.

Floradale took the lead in the second with three unanswered goals. Gary Martin tied the game on a power play, assisted by Javan Martin and Ryan Weber. Corey Wideman added the go-ahead goal with a slapshot, assisted by Gary Martin.

Kendrick Frey snapped in an insurance goal on another Floradale power play. Gary Martin and Javan Martin assisted. Good forechecking by Dustin Gingrich earned him an unassisted goal late in the third period and put the game away for Floradale.

The win gives Floradale a 2-0 lead in the best-of-five ‘A’ Division Finals.