Local students receive county scholarships

WELLINGTON COUNTY – Ten local students will be receiving educational scholarships and bursaries from the County of Wellington based on academic achievement, community involvement or financial need.

At the Sept. 29 county council meeting, council awarded the following students with $500 bursaries and scholarships to use toward their post-secondary school expenses:

  • Faith VanderWerf of Puslinch Township;
  • Alessandro Cannataro, Guelph/Eramosa;
  • Olivia Melnick, Guelph/Eramosa;
  • Walter Leistra, Guelph/Eramosa;
  • Madison Rumph, Mapleton;
  • Mandy de Vries, Mapleton;
  • Milana Perri, Wellington North;
  • Tessa Frey, Wellington North;
  • Gillian McVeigh, Erin; and
  • Hayley Watson, Centre Wellington.

Additional information on the County of Wellington’s scholarship and bursary program can be found at www.wellington.ca/scholarships.