Candidate nominations now open for 2022 municipal election

WELLINGTON COUNTY –  Nominations for the 2022 municipal election are open. 

Candidates can officially file their nominations for the offices of mayor, councillor or school board trustee until Aug. 19. 

Candidates who wish to submit their nominations must: 

– make an appointment with the clerk’s office to file their nomination package no later than Aug. 19 at 2pm; 

– submit the required 25 endorsements with their nomination for all positions other than school board trustee;

– show identification showing name and qualifying municipal address; and

– pay the filing fee ($200 for mayor or $100 for councillor or trustee).

Nomination packages must be filed before candidates can accept election contributions or incur campaign expenses.

As of May 3 at 2pm the following candidates had announced they are running: 

Centre Wellington

– Neil Dunsmore, mayor;

– Shawn Watters, mayor; 

– Lisa MacDonald, Ward 1; and

– Kimberley Jefferson, Ward 2.


– Chris White, mayor;

– Corey Woods, Ward 2;

– Lisa Logan-Dayman, Ward 3; and

– Steven Liebig, Ward 3. 


– James Seeley, mayor.

Town of Minto

– Dave Turton, mayor; and 

– Ron Elliott, deputy mayor. 

Wellington North 

– Dan Yake, mayor.

Wellington Catholic District School Board

– Andrew Finoro, trustee.