Appointees named to local police board

WELLINGTON COUNTY – Lisa MacDonald and Joanne Ross-Zuj were named as provincial appointees to the County of Wellington Police Services Board. 

The appointment of the two Elora residents was announced on Jan. 7.

In addition to MacDonald and Ross-Zuj, the board consists of Wellington County Warden and Centre Wellington Mayor Kelly Linton, county council representative Ward 2 councillor David Anderson of Minto and citizen appointee Gary Williamson of Wellington North.

The County of Wellington OPP Detachment was formed on Sept. 8, 1999 as a result of the amalgamation of municipal police services in Fergus, Harriston and Palmerston, along with the Guelph and Mount Forest Detachments of the Ontario Provincial Police.