2010 Wellington County 4-H awards night

Numerous awards recognizing the efforts of Wellington 4-H members were handed out on Nov. 26 at the annual Wellington County 4-H awards night.

Some of those awards include:

 – 24th project completion – Devan Mansfield, David Sealey, Jackie Shaw and Valarie Wood;

– secretary book awards – Cassandra Chonoboy, Edanna Howlett and Danielle Nyman;- press reporter : Aaron Fairfield and Kristen Goetz;

– photography: club award, Ospringe 4-H Club, Nora Howlett and Brenda Mathies, Home for the Holidays’ project. 4-H member award: Ellen Shaw, locally approved miniature donkey project;

– regional Go for the Gold competition: Aimee Bailey, Vanessa Maciukiewicz, Valarie Wood, Veronica Wood, and coach Brenda Mathies;

– field crop: Arjan Holland.

The Donald Dann In Memoriam award for top overall Junior 4-H Dairy Members wen to:

– Eramosa Dairy Club – Kirsten Harbin;

– Erin Dairy Club – Lauren Alpin’

– Minto Dairy Club – Abbi Atkins; and,

– West Luther Dairy Club – Aaron Fairfield

The Wellington judging competition winners were, in order of finish:

– Junior, Danielle Nyman and Connor French;

– intermediate, Ellen Shaw  and Paul Aitken; and

– senior, Joey Parkinson and Jason Schill.

The Wellington judging competition’s overall winner was Danielle Nyman.

Melissa Hurst, of the West Luther Beef Club, won the Wellington County 4-H Scholarship.