Two-way race for mayor in Wellington North as filing deadline passes

Mayor position in Mapleton Township, all of Minto town council filled by acclamation

WELLINGTON COUNTY – There is a two-way race for mayor in Wellington North, but the top post on council was filled by acclamation in two other northern Wellington municipalities.

Nominations for the 2022 municipal election closed on Aug. 19 for mayor, councillor and school board trustee positions. The election date is Oct. 24.


While incumbent Mayor Gregg Davidson is acclaimed here, there are six candidates vying for the four councillor positions on Mapleton Township council.

Council candidates include incumbents Marlene Ottens and Michael Martin, along with local residents Amanda Reid, Bill Sipes, Martin Tamlyn and Erik Begg.

Incumbent Earl Campbell is being challenged by Frank Carere for the Ward 2 county council seat representing Mapleton.


Town council in Minto has been filled entirely by acclamation.

Current deputy mayor Dave Turton went unchallenged in his bid for the mayor’s position.

Current Mayor George Bridge elected not to run for a fourth term. 

Current councilor Jean Anderson is acclaimed as deputy mayor and the municipality’s five council seats are awarded by acclamation to incumbents Geoff Gunson, Judy Dirksen and Ron Elliott, along with local residents Paul Zimmerman and Ed Podniewicz.

Incumbent Wellington County councillor Dave Anderson, a Minto resident faces a challenge for the Ward 1 council seat from Mapleton resident Bert Beilke. 

 Wellington North 

In Wellington North, incumbent Mayor Andy Lennox faces a challenge from current council member Dan Yake.

There are also races for two of four ward seats on Wellington North council. 

In Ward 1, Shawn McLeod, Penny Renken and Jeanean Mousseau are the candidates.

In Ward 2, incumbent Sherry Burke is running against Menno Klunder.

Incumbents Lisa Hern and Steven McCabe are acclaimed in Wards 3 and 4 respectively.

Incumbent Ward 3 Wellington County councillor Campbell Cork and incumbent Ward 4 county councillor Stephen O’Neill have been acclaimed.

School boards

Upper Grand District School Board incumbent trustee Robin Ross faces three challengers in the upcoming election: Daniel Kelly, Daniel Greer and Natalie Breau.

Incumbent Wellington Catholic District School Board trustee Andrew Finoro has been acclaimed.

Candidates for the Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir trustee position are Genevieve Grenier and Patrick O’Neil.

Candidates for Conseil Scolaire Viamonde trustee are Joseph Vandermeer and David O’Hara.