Agricultural Society getting ready to celebrate its 174th season

The Fergus Agricultural Society held its annual meeting on Jan. 29 at Speedside United Church.

President Andrew Taylor and fair ambassador Jeremy Parkinson brought greetings.

The new executive and director positions for 2010 were elected; president, And­rew Taylor; first vice-president, Ted Kent; and second vice-president, John Worton.

Directors are John Broad­foot, Mary Fraser, Joanne Bu­ell, Marney Swanston, Rob McFarlane, Denise Kankainen, Cathy Wierstra, Joan McBur­ney, Deb Veldhuizen, Sarah Wallace-Taylor, Jenny Ver­voort, and Terrie Theaker.

Constitutional changes and by-laws were discussed and the addition of three new junior director positions to the board was passed. Rob Black, execu­tive director for the Centre for Rural Leadership and who is involved with the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Pro­gram, gave the keynote ad­dress.

He talked of the import­ance role leadership plays in the agricultural industry.

The annual meeting starts a year of planning and preparing for the Fergus Fall Fair.

The 2010 fair theme is Fall Harvest and prize information will be at www.fergus­fall­, as it becomes available. The fair will be held Sept. 17 to 19, and it will mar­k the society’s 174th anniversary.