First lacrosse team makes it to OFSAA

FERGUS – The first-ever lacrosse team from Centre Wellington District High School (CWDHS) won the CWOSSA title on May 23 in Kitchener and is competing this week at the OFSAA tournament in Owen Sound.

The CWDHS Falcons defeated Resurrection from Kitchener 14-8 in the CWOSSA (Central Western Ontario Secondary Schools Association) semi-finals of boys’ field lacrosse.

They went on to score an 11-7 victory over Assumption College from Brantford in the finals.

Head coach Ryan Martin, is assisted by Murray Skerritt and Rich Preston. Players range from Grade 9 to Grade 12.

Skerrit said while there had not been a school team previously, officials were able to attract talented players thanks to strong lacrosse activity in the Fergus area.

The roster is made up of Ethan Broderick, Jaxon Brunskill, Jayden Bushey, Trent Collins, Aiden Cormack, Kyle Detweiler, Peyton Drone, Kurtis Goodwin, Troy Hall, Blake Harrison, Brett Harrison, Carter Hyndman, Brayden Krieger, Benton Martin, Riley McCabe, Mark McIntosh, Stewart McKnight, Jordan Mueller, Zack Ranahan, Nick Stamp and Jonah White.

The OFSAA (Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations) games were set for June 5 and 6, after the Advertiser’s press deadline.