Today's date: Wednesday January 23, 2019
column width padding column width padding

The Wellington Advertiser Masthead Logo

We Cover The County...
40,052 Audited Circulation

WEEKLY POLL   |   Community News   |   EQUINE   |   Schools & Buses

Wellington Weddings 2019
Business Leader Banner
column width padding column width padding

ONTARIO ELECTION 2018: Provincial candidates meetings set for Wellington ridings

WELLINGTON CTY. - All-candidates meetings are being planned for the Wellington-Halton Hills and Perth-Wellington ridings in advance of the June 7 provincial election.

Wellington-Halton Hills

In Wellington-Halton Hills local meetings include:

- May 17 at 7:30pm at Eramosa Public School, 5757 5th Line in Guelph-Eramosa, hosted jointly by the Wellington and Halton Federations of Agriculture and supported by the Centre Wellington Chamber of Commerce; and

- May 24 at 7:30pm at the Puslinch Community Centre in Aberfoyle, hosted by the Puslinch Optimist Club.

While not all riding candidates are confirmed (as of press time), at least six people are vying for the Wellington-Halton Hills seat in the 2018 provincial election.

Longtime incumbent Progressive Conservative MPP Ted Arnott is running again for the position.

Halton Hills councillor Jon Hurst was nominated as the Liberal candidate for the riding on April 30.

Centre Wellington District High School teacher Diane Ballantyne ran uncontested for the NDP candidacy.

The Green Party nominated Puslinch resident Dave Rogers as its riding candidate. The party’s website notes Rogers is an “environmental scientist and a dedicated outdoor enthusiast.”

Stan Smyer was nominated for the None of the Above party and Pierre Nadeau is running for the Ontario Libertarian Party.


Three local meetings have been announced for Perth-Wellington candidates:

- May 17 at 7:30pm at the Optimist Hall in Alma, hosted by the Alma Optimist Club;

- May 29 at 2pm at the Harriston Community Centre, hosted by the Minto Retirees Association; and

- May 29 at 8pm at Kenilworth Public School, hosted by the Wellington Federation of Agriculture.

So far, four parties have confirmed riding candidates in advance of the May 17 nomination deadline.

Incumbent Progressive Conservative MPP Randy Pettapiece is standing for re-election.

Stratford resident Michael O’Brien was uncontested for the nomination as the NDP candidate.

The Green Party has nominated Wellington native Lisa Oslen.

Scott Marshall, a Harriston resident and a self-employed business consultant, is running for the Ontario Libertarian Party.

A Liberal Party candidate has not been elected for the Perth-Wellington riding.

- With files from Olivia Rutt

May 11, 2018


Tell Us What You Think

Login to submit a comment

Comments appearing on this website are the opinion of the comment writer and do not represent the opinion of the Wellington Advertiser. Comments that attack other individuals or are offensive, unsubstantiated or otherwise inappropriate will be removed. You must register or log in in order to post a comment. For more information, read our detailed Comment Policy and Guidelines.



Wellington County

Related Stories

  • Mapleton Minto 81s have successful weekend
  • Wellington Countys blue box program turns 25
  • Warden: little interest in elected at-large head of county council
  • January is Crime Stoppers Month
  • Hospital executives earn almost $700,000
  • Police warn even with good road maintenance drivers must take care
  • County adds items to blue box collection
  • Reports: Cynthia Vanier to be held 40 more days
  • Three local groups receive Farm Credit Canada funding
  • County staff offer helping hand to families in need
  • Parents upset by school board plan to transfer students from Guelph to Erin
  • Local emergency departments urge patients to prepare for holiday
  • Mount Forest woman accused as ringleader in Gaddafi smuggling plot
  • Inspector Scott Smith: People are their own best crime defence
  • Groves, North Wellington Health Care get award
  • King of the Pull winners announced
  • column width padding column width padding column width padding

    The Wellington Advertiser





    Digital Publications


    Twitter Logo

    Free Press News Network Logo